Review: Butcher & The Burger

April 16, 2012 § Leave a comment

My First Restaurant Review via A Toast to the Good Life.  I’ll be gentle, I promise…

A new restaurant opened up in my neighborhood, Lincoln Park, called “Butcher and the Burger”.  Now, I’m not going to lie, a place that lets you design your own burger (including the type of meat) AND is a BYOB, has JLW written all over it.  The only downfall… you can’t make reservations.  So, prior to meeting my cousin and her boyfriend at the movies, CBH and I ventured to this new establishment with two bottles of wine tucked snuggly into my purse.  (One for dinner, and one for the movie theatre.  Shh.)  

As we approach the restaurant, we notice that there is a small line out the door… little did we realize just how long it was, until once you stepped inside.  Apparently we weren’t the only ones testing it out.

The aroma was amazing.  (Then again, who can resist the smell of a hot grill.)  The interior felt so cozy and relaxed.  Rustic, casual décor.  CBH and I uncorked a bottle of wine, poured ourselves each a glass, and waited patiently in line.

Quick tip (which took us probably far too long to figure out), if you want to sit down and dine at Butcher and the Burger, you wait in line first for an available table, THEN you get back in line to order your food.  CBH and I were fortunate enough to have our table called pretty quickly.  Then the fun began… the designing of your burger!

  • My burger: Bison Burger, simple spice of kosher salt and pepper, topped with cheddar cheese, griddled mushrooms (hence another attempt to become accustomed), and garlic truffle aioli (God’s Gift).
  • CBH’s burger: house blend beef, Sonora desert chili spice, mozzarella cheese, raw onion, fried egg, and smoked bacon.
  • Oh yes, and a large order of fries.  (ooph) 

 The meal was delicious, and the wait staff was just as entertaining.  Friendly faces, and probably the best burger I’ve had in Chicago.  Definitely recommend!!  (just make sure you are not on a short time table… the wait certainly is longer than expected, but after that first bite, it quickly makes up for the time spent in line.)

xo.jlw

Tagged:

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Butcher & The Burger at A Toast to the Good Life.

meta